Bonus quote for the day

I just finished reading I, Pencil: My Family Tree as told to Leonard E. Reed. It was a short read, but absolutely fascinating. It is an excellent illustration of spontaneous order. It is the story of how “the invisible hand” and not a master mind (i.e. government) makes a pencil. My favorite paragraph is the last one.

The lesson I have to teach is this: Leave all creative energies uninhibited. Merely organize society to act in harmony with this lesson. Let society’s legal apparatus remove all obstacles the best it can. Permit these creative know-hows freely to flow. Have faith that free men and women will respond to the Invisible Hand. This faith will be confirmed. I, Pencil, seemingly simple though I am, offer the miracle of my creation as testimony that this is a practical faith, as practical as the sun, the rain, a cedar tree, the good earth.

Leave a Reply

